Search: Advanced Search

Carolyn Osborn author's photo

Carolyn Osborn graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a B.J. degree in 1955, and an M.A. in 1959. She has won awards from P.E.N., the Texas Institute of Letters, and a Distinguished Prose Award from The Antioch Review (2003). Her stories have been included in The O. Henry Awards (Doubleday, 1991) and Lone Star Literature (Norton, 2003), among numerous other anthologies. She is the author of two novels, Contrary People (Wings Press, 2012) and Uncertain Ground (Wings Press, 2009); four collections of short stories, A Horse of Another Color (University of Illinois Press, 1977), The Fields of Memory (Shearer Publishing, 1984), Warriors & Maidens (Texas Christian University Press, 1991), and Where We Are Now (Wings Press, 2014). Her most recent book is Durations: A Memoir and Personal Essays. The Book Club of Texas published an illustrated, specially bound edition of her story, The Grands (1990). In 2009, she received the Lon Tinkle Award from the Texas Institute of Letters.

Author photo by Nancy Scanlan

Email Carolyn Osborn


Titles Published by Wings Press: